America, I Do

What our country needs is a renewal ceremony. Not a tree-planting ceremony, not a 2nd amendment rally, not a renewed commitment to opposing “Them” (pick your “Them”).

Americans need to think of their country as family. Nobody writes love songs to America anymore. A little “you and me against the world” would do every American some good.

“My fellow Americans” has become bad comedy shtick. America has turned into the most vicious of relationships. Disagreements turn into vengeance. Mistakes give us something to mock in front of the company.

To become an American citizen, you have to learn about the United States. You have to pass a test to earn the right to be a citizen. And you have to take an oath of allegiance to the nation. This is not the “Pledge of Allegiance”, learned by rote in Kindergarten and chanted mindlessly for all 13 years of public education. This is a legally binding ceremony. This is a vow.

Naturalized citizens love America. They love it! They are happy to be part of it, proud of it, offer it respect and devotion.

I love my country. I shouldn’t insult it. I shouldn’t turn my in-laws into enemies. I shouldn’t let arguments fester. I shouldn’t damage a relationship I want to keep.

If you’re here, it’s safe to assume you want to stay. Forsaking all others, cleaving only to each other, for as long as you both shall live.

George Washington felt that way about the United States of America. He warned against the arguments, about special interests trying to conquer through division, about the dangers of becoming entrenched in a part of the nation to the point where you see the other places as enemies, instead of part of the whole.

If it was good enough for him, it’s good enough for me.

Share/Save/Bookmark//

One thought on “America, I Do

  1. Pingback: America, I Do | IMMIGRATION WISH

Comments are closed.